The market in Loulé, Portugal


On our first full day in Portugal, we stopped off at the town of Loulé to see the local market. We’d heard about two: a gypsy market (which was described very much as as flea market), and the local food market, which takes place in a covered building in the center of town.

The market hall in the middle of Loulé. It was decorated for the holidays with garlands. The domes are an interesting shape - not the traditional round onion-like domes.

The market hall in the middle of Loulé. It was decorated for the holidays with garlands. The domes are an interesting shape – not the traditional round onion-like domes.

Inside, the market was fairly traditional. Mostly fish, meat, and fruits and vegetables, with a few stands of special spices and honey (the Algarve is famous for honey!).

Fresh prawns (shrimp)... but they were so big I could almost swear they were lobsters.

Fresh prawns (shrimp)… but they were so big I could almost swear they were lobsters.

We saw this fish being measured. I think it might be tuna, but I'm not sure. It came in at 20 kg!

We saw this fish being measured. I think it might be tuna, but I’m not sure. It came in at 20 kg!

I'm pretty sure this is eel ... maybe conger eel? Not sure. I think one of my New Year's Resolutions should be to learn more about fish.

I’m pretty sure this is eel … maybe conger eel? Not sure. I think one of my New Year’s Resolutions should be to learn more about fish.

While there were a few tourists around, it seemed that the market definitely served the local market. If I could have bought some of the lovely vegetables, I would have!  The oranges were bigger than my head.

The facilities in the market were great - air conditioning, sinks for washing the fish, ice, electric scales, good lighting. One of the nicest market buildings we've ever seen. Obviously it was recently modernised, but it still kept a lot of traditional flavour.

The facilities in the market were great – air conditioning, sinks for washing the fish, ice, electric scales, good lighting. One of the nicest market buildings we’ve ever seen. Obviously it was recently modernised, but it still kept a lot of traditional flavour.

Posted on 02/01/2015, in travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

