Random pics from Antwerp


Can you tell that we’re back on the blogging bandwagon?  I can’t promise how long it will last …. but we’re trying to keep the blog alive!

I think we both loved Bruges and Ghent, for obvious reasons, but Antwerp will always hold a special place in my heart because of Astridplein. And Alex loves the Central Station, of course, but there are plenty of other reasons to love this city. The cathedral is amazing, the markets are full of fun,  there is some great culture … overall it’s a bit gritter than others, but it’s also much bigger!  Here are just a few, totally random, pictures from our afternoon in Antwerp.

There is a tunnel that goes from one side of the city, under the river, to the other side. Alex went down to explore the tunnel and discovered that they have wooden escalators! I've only ever seen these in Macy's in New York City, and even there they are a bit touristy. But there is the genuine article, still in use. Impressive!

There is a tunnel that goes from one side of the city, under the river, to the other side. Alex went down to explore the tunnel and discovered that they have wooden escalators! I’ve only ever seen these in Macy’s in New York City, and even there they are a bit touristy. But there is the genuine article, still in use. Impressive!

 

Just a quick shot that we took from the street. I love rounded buildings like this one, and having the cathedral in the background just makes it so tall and skinny!

Just a quick shot that we took from the street. I love rounded buildings like this one, and having the cathedral in the background just makes it so tall and skinny!

 

I felt so sorry for these poor horses. I try really hard to not be a weirdo-animal-activist, because I honestly don't know enough about animal husbandry to know if this is abusive or not, and I've been told that people frequently over-react (especially to working horses), but even I could see that these two horses were working their tail-feathers off. And this double-decker coach wasn't loaded with tourists. I dread to think about their suffering in the heat of summer, with boatloads of fat American tourists on board!

I felt so sorry for these poor horses. I try really hard to not be a weirdo-animal-activist, because I honestly don’t know enough about animal husbandry to know if this is abusive or not, and I’ve been told that people frequently over-react (especially to working horses), but even I could see that these two horses were working their tail-feathers off. And this double-decker coach wasn’t fully loaded. I dread to think about their suffering in the heat of summer, with boatloads of fat American tourists on board!

 

Random.

Random. I just liked the name of the store. Eurodoggy II. Makes me want to visit the original!

 

 

 

 

Posted on 01/12/2012, in travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

