Astrid everywhere


There is a tiny park in Bruges named after Queen Astrid

There is a tiny park in Bruges named after Queen Astrid

xP1080043

Queen Astrid, the queen of Belgium for whom I am named. I’ve always wanted to visit her park in Bruges, and now I’ve done it!

Just outside the Antwerp Central Station there is a square named after Queen Astrid, it's called AstridPlein.

Just outside the Antwerp Central Station there is a square named after Queen Astrid, it’s called AstridPlein.

Alex and I were totally surprised to see the Astrid Station though. Can you believe that my transit-obsessed husband didn't know that I have my own metro station?  I know it's nothing compared to Alexanderplatz in Berlitz, but it's still not shabby!

Alex and I were totally surprised to see the Astrid Station though. Can you believe that my transit-obsessed husband didn’t know that I have my own metro station? I know it’s nothing compared to Alexanderplatz in Berlitz, but it’s still not shabby!

 

Another entrance to the station.  Because we had to explore the entire thing.

Another entrance to the station. Because we had to explore the entire thing.

 

Look! I have a building, too!

Look! I have a building, too!

 

And signs pointing people in the right direction.

And signs pointing people in the right direction.

 

Or if you have really good eyesight, you can find me on the map!

Or if you have really good eyesight, you can find me on the map!

 

What other girl can say she has her very own parking garage?!?

What other girl can say she has her very own parking garage?!?

 

I'm even found in elevators.  Nice!

I’m even found in elevators. Nice!

 

But definitely the piece de resistance is the Astrid Burger. Alas, it was about 8:30 in the morning when we found it, so I did not partake, but maybe next time!

But definitely the piece de resistance is the Astrid Burger and the Astrid Deluxe. Alas, it was about 8:30 in the morning when we found it, so I did not partake, but maybe next time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on 30/11/2012, in Just a funny, travel, Travel to Europe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

