A little bit of a rant


Apparently there is an article today in the British press about the fattest man in Britain. I am not going to link to it because I don’t think it qualifies as “news”, and I find fat-shaming to be abhorrent behavior. I just got into an argument with my co-workers about it, because they were all huddled around one computer screen, making comments like “Ew, that’s disgusting”  “Nasty”  “He’s gross”.  When asked if I wanted to view the image, I simply said no.

But then I couldn’t take it anymore, and I asked my one co-worker if she knew that the man was a human being, a person, who deserved a certain amount of dignity.  She responded that it’s his own fault that he’s that fat, so therefore he does not deserve any.  My response is that you don’t know the man’s medical history, either physical or mental. You don’t know anything about him, or how he got to be in such condition, so who are you to judge?

In fact, I would go so far as to ask if you substituted the word “black” or “old”  or “retarded”  for “fat” in this scenario, would you still be making comments like “oh that’s disgusting, he’s so XXXX”  You wouldn’t, would you?  Because racism, ageism, and other discriminatory behavior is clearly wrong and we all know it.  Well, fat-ism or fat-shaming is just as bad.  It is NOT OKAY, and if you engage in such behavior, you should be the one feeling ashamed.

We are all people, and we come in all shapes, sizes, colors, and ages, and none of us – not a single one – is in any position to judge or deride another.

Okay. I’m done now.

Posted on 25/09/2012, in travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Amen! One of my favorite sayings is “Walk a mile in my shoes” Valerie

  1. Pingback: Transgressing “ism”: Seeing Beyond Our Noses. | Kens Cushion

Leave a Reply

