He’s dead, no he’s not, yes he is, no he’s not…


I’m reading The Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin on my Kindle, because let’s face it … the books are too damn long to read in print.  Score one for the Kindle: my wrists don’t get sore reading really long books (and those are the best ones, don’t you think?)  Score two for the kindle, I don’t get judged for reading sci-fi/fantasy, unless I happen to go on the internet and blog about it, but you’ll forgive me, right?  Knights in shining armor, ladies in distress, a few fire-breathing dragons, and some frozen zombies are nothing to be ashamed of, right?

Except that I’ve just finished book 3 in the series, and I’m starting to get a little annoyed. You see, just about every main character that I care about is dead. Old age, poison, falling off a tower, drowning, burning alive … t’s all there.  I think every main character is dead. Except then they’re not. But then they are again. I can’t keep it straight … someone gets their head cut off, and I think “Finally! This one is dead FOR REAL!”, but then some magic priestess comes and breathes life back into them. ARGH! I’m getting to the point where I DID care if you lived or died, but now I kind of just want you to die so I can get on with the story!

Anyone else feel this way?

Posted on 29/01/2012, in Book Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

