BRAIIIINS


So this Halloween was a bit abnormal, because Alex was in Brazil and I’ve been busy at work. But I did find the time last weekend to put together a few treats for our company Halloween party.  No one here in the UK is super excited about Halloween, it’s really an American holiday, so I tried to bring a little bit of home into the office.  I got candy corn (which the Brits have never seen), and American bite-size chocolate bars (there was almost a fight over whether a Milky Way should have nuts or not).  I also did a few crazy things.

The coolest thing I did was make a brain cake. I found a brain mold at a candy store, but unfortunately it was a really thin plastic and was intended to be used as an ice-mold for making a giant ice brain, which would then float in your punch bowl. That sounded pretty cool, but I don’t have a freezer and I don’t have a punch bowl. So instead I decided to be creative.  I got some melty white chocolate, and gave it just a hint of food coloring to give it a pale pink color.  Then I melted the chocolate (don’t have a microwave, so had to improvise a double-boiler!) and brushed it inside the mold. I put it in the fridge, and added a second layer the next day.  When the chocolate was all hard, I mixed up a no-bake cheesecake and poured it in. It would have been really cool if I had done a raspberry-swirl cheesecake, but I didn’t. But I have to say, it turned out really cool.  When the cheesecake was hard, I packed a graham-cracker crust into the bottom.   I brought it into work that way, and then flipped it over onto a plate, removed the mold, and covered the whole thing in strawberry sauce.  I’m not a big baker, but I was REALLY impressed with how well it turned out!

When it came time to serve the cake, I stuck a giant knife in the top and let it sit there for awhile, and then started breaking open the chocolate to reveal the gooey cheesecake underneath. I have to admit, there were quite a few people who refused to try any because they said it was too gross!  I think if I were to do it again, I’d try to make the colors of the white chocolate a little more interesting. I think you could get some edible paint and paint blood vessels on it – or maybe make it more of a grey color …  and I would try to use something instead of strawberry syrup, because it soaked into the cheesecake and made it really goopy.

I also made a few other things … lollipops of death (cake pops),  murderous cupcakes (cupcakes with the center hollowed out and filled with strawberry jam), and tapeworm sandwiches (hot dogs cut long-wise in quarters and then warmed up in hot water – which contracts the skin of the dog and makes it curl up;  then cover in ketchup!).  They were all a big hit.  The stuffed  baby rats were simply dates stuffed with cream cheese and walnuts – very easy to make. (They could also have been stuffed cockroaches, but I thought that was taking it too far!)

Posted on 04/11/2011, in Foodie adventures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

