The best restaurant EVER if you’re a Gaulish Warrior


I don’t think most of our loyal readers will understand my enthusiasm about this restaurant, except for my mom and brother. The rest of you have some serious educating to do!

Yes, that’s right. An entire restaurant themed around the Asterix and Obelix comic book series!  How cool is that?!  I LOVED these books when I was younger, and even now I can sit down and easily kill 30 minutes in a book store reading about Asterix’s adventures. Alex surprised me with this on our last morning in Copenhagen, and I think it might be one of the sweetest things he’s ever done. I don’t know how he heard about it, but I’m so glad we found the time to go there for brunch on Saturday morning. The food was pretty good too! It was buffet style, and they had scrambled eggs AND crispy bacon!  (Don’t worry – I also had a plate of fruit, but it didn’t fit in the picture.)

The walls were covered in Obelixiana (I just made that word up, but it’s an official term now) … unfortunately most of them were in Danish, but I’m familiar enough with the stories to know what was what.

The only thing that disappointed me was that their menu didn’t have the draught of special potion to give you super-human strength!  Someone needs to come out with that, pronto!

My favorite thing in the whole restaurant was the boar’s head hanging on the wall.

 

 

Posted on 26/08/2011, in Foodie adventures, travel, Travel to Europe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I came here rather than to your recent ‘Freshly Pressed’ post. I have adored ‘Astérix le Gaulois’ since I can’t remember when. The thing is… it’s so much funnier in French.

    I used to love comparing French and English texts (perhaps I could make this an OU thesis?). ‘Panoramix’ the Druid had a very brief existence as ‘Getafix’ but that was dropped because of the possibility of drug-culture connotations. The most wonderful name translation is of course ‘Idefix’, who becomes ‘Dogmatix’ – perfect!

    Your picture of that plate of fried food reminds me that I’m on a diet. 😦

    Ils sont fous ces Danois.

    Marie Marshall
    writer/poet/editor/blogger
    Scotland

Leave a Reply

