I am a bad, bad blogger!


Cover of "Lord of the Flies, Educational ...

Cover of Lord of the Flies, Educational Edition

Sorry folks!  Things here were on a bit of a hiatus this weekend, mostly because it was (yet-another) 3-day bank holiday weekend, but also because Alex was very busy getting ready for his trip to Rochester/Boston, and I was very busy doing … well … nothing, I suppose. But it was desperately needed!  I had a rough week at work, and I took the long weekend as an opportunity to curl up on the couch and get some reading done.

Three books in three days is a pretty impressive rate, even for me!  On Saturday I read Skeletons at the Feast by Chris Bohjalian — highly recommended! Most WWII literature is from the Allied or Jewish perspective, so I loved reading about things from the east German/Polish angle. Now if I could only find some books from the Russian point of view!  On Sunday I dorked out and re-read Lord of the Flies by William Golding. And I admit, this was wholly motivated by a newspaper article last week, which described the scene on an airplane that was been delayed for 7 hours at Heathrow as being “Lord of the Flies-esque”.  And after re-reading the book, I can certainly say that I think the newspaper was exaggerating for effect (not that I’m an expert on hyperbole, or anything).  And on Monday, I spent the day getting lost in Kazuo Ishiguro’s Artist of the Floating World, which is now definitely on my list of all-time favorite books. Not much happens, but it’s so beautiful that you won’t even notice.

So here we are on a Tuesday, and I have no exciting pictures or stories from our weekend travels, because mine were spent on the couch and Alex was in the office. Hopefully he’ll find some time to blog from the bustling metropolis that is Rochester, NY … otherwise maybe you’ll get a bean-town post or two over the weekend. I have been thinking of trying to go see Lord of the Flies this weekend at the Regent’s Park open air theatre, but I can’t quite make up my mind about it. Better check the weather first.

We have been busy planning our summer trip to Cornwall, and I’ve just now succeeded in booking a really great B&B, so I’m pretty excited.  I think we’re going to try and do the long-weekend sans-auto, as is our style, even though Cornwall is usually described as a car-oriented place.

Enough for now — time to get back to the grindstone!  Or in my case, more reading (but this time it’s for work … promise!)

Posted on 31/05/2011, in travel. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We have friends in Cornwall! I will email you their contact info. SO beautiful there. We spent several days there.

Leave a Reply

