St Cross Hospital’s garden


Have you ever heard that really tacked, psycho-babble advice about “going to your happy place” … ? I’m sure you have.  I’ve never been quite sure what that means, or where my happy place is. But then we visited the gardens at St Cross Hospital, and I knew that the next time I was troubled, I could close my eyes and imagine myself back in this lovely garden. Perhaps it’s not happy enough, but it was certainly serene.  There was a deep fish pond, that the brothers used to stock and tend, as well as a great hedge and amazing trees.

 

Looking out over the fish pond.

 

 

 

The most beautiful tree I've ever seen.

 

 

 

Hazy hills in the distance.

 

A cute doorway cut into the hedge!

 

Not sure what this is... a well? There are steps leading down into it... a medieval version of a hot tub?

 

The garden shed.

 

The perfect spot.

 

 

 

Posted on 07/04/2011, in Castles & Cathedrals, Exploring the UK, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

