The sun does stuff and it’s pretty


I love living in London, and we’ve been able to find new and exciting things to do/see/eat over the past year that have definitely satisfied my soul. However, there just one or two things that we miss that we haven’t been able to find substitutes for. For Alex, that thing is Twizzlers. For me, that thing is sunsets.  London is rainy and drizzly a lot of the time, and there aren’t any cool mountains or skyscrapers or oceans for the sun to disappear beyond. Instead we get a really long and lingering twilight, and I’ve never really been able to pinpoint the moment when the sun disappears.

Which is one reason why I totally loved our hotel in Sausalito. Okay, so it’s sunrises instead of sunsets, but we had an amazing view over the bay. I wasn’t really very coherent about the whole thing, I was too busy drooling “ooohh… pretty colors…. pretty water….. pretty sunshine…..” and taking about a zillion photographs.  And because I think relationships are all about communication, which is all about sharing, I’m now going to make you look at a slideshow of all those pictures. But watch out, because pretty soon you’ll be drooling too!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted on 10/02/2011, in travel, Travel to the States and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Dropped in to say ‘hi’ and check up on your latest European excursions. Little did I know you had been in the US! Fantastic pictures anyway. I have to go to San Francisco next week for a conference, but I don’t think I’ll make it to a fraction of the places you did. Glad you saw your niece–congrats on the new addition to the family!

Leave a Reply

