A snapshot of HamBRRRRRRg.


Since we’re cheapskates (no really, the only way we can afford to travel around as much as we do is because we totally take the cheapest option every time), we flew EasyJet from London Gatwick to Hamburg. We were supposed to have a few hours to wander around the city, and then catch the ICE train to Berlin. Unfortunately our train was canceled, and we ended up on a train two hours later, so instead of 3 hours to see the city, we had 5.  Which is okay, except that it was so cold we didn’t do much. But we definitely saw enough of Hamburg to know that it’s a nice place, and I don’t think I would mind going back. I’m not sure I would make a special trip, but if I was passing through it would be a good place to take a break. The canals were lovely (and surprising!) and we saw a ton of cute cafes that would be great places to hang out in warm weather.

I apologize if these pictures are a bit random. I was going to write a nice, long, narrative post about our time in Hamburg, but then I realized that the story would be pretty boring.  So here are some pictures instead!

 

This is obviously an older building that has been renovated and is now a Starbucks. How sad!

 

 

This is the highspeed German ICE train. What's funny is that it is totally covered in ice. The buildup underneath is really amazing, and it's impressive they were still running at all.

 

Holiday decorations at the Hamburg Hauptbahnhof.

 

You can barely see the top of the church spire because of the fog!

 

The lake was covered with ice. Alex felt really sorry for the little duck, who was swimming his frozen little tuckus off!

 

Looking down on the trains at the Hauptbahnhof. It was a really big space, and is apparently the busiest train station in Europe.

 

Saw this at the local bookstore. LOVE IT!!!

 

The adorable Christmas Market.

 

I love this building, because you can see the spiral staircase going up the spire! I want to live at the top!

 

This was taken inside the Rathaus, or City Hall. It's out of focus, but I'm going to say that I did that deliberately.

 

We came across this canal in Hamburg, and I had to snap a picture because it has a traffic light!

 

Alex in front of the Rathaus.

 

This street can keep their Christmas decorations up for Valentines Day!

 

We ducked inside the Europa Passage (a mall) to get out of the cold for a few minutes, and I particularly liked their decorations.

 

I snapped this from across the street, but I just love the fact that there is a whole store dedicated to gummy bears.

 

Alex at the Hamburg Christmas Market.

 

The Hauptbahnhof!

 

Posted on 19/01/2011, in travel, Travel to Europe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

