A Confession about Churches (appropriate, no?)


You know how people often say “I know you better than you know yourself?” but you don’t really believe them, but it’s maybe true?  I had a moment like when we were in Berlin.  I was totally geeking out when we visited the Berliner Dom, taking about a million pictures, when Alex told me that I was a Cathedral Nut.  At first I started to argue, but then I just gave up.  Okay, fine. I love cathedrals, churches, mosques, synagogues — bring it on.  I admit this is a little odd since I am an Atheist, but what can I say. I am what I am.  Which is apparently an Atheist Cathedral Nut.  But don’t tell anyone.

I don’t know much about the history of the Berliner Dom, except that it was only built in 1905, which is fairly recent when you think about European cathedrals.  I really loved this building — it’s opulent and over the top, but tasteful at the same time.  We got some really great pictures of the exterior at night, and it’s quite spooky in the snow! The River Spree, which runs right next to the Dom, was full of ice chunks that were moving quite quickly.  The interior of the church is unique because it’s round, rather than having a long apse and nave in the traditional shapes. I really loved that, as it makes everything much closer and more intimate.  I won’t go into too much detail here. Instead I’ll let you enjoy the picture in a nifty slideshow!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.




Posted on 19/01/2011, in travel, Travel to Europe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

