Be careful with your valedictions


Love,

Thanks!

Best wishes!

See ya.

TTYL.

YWM

These are all valedictions — the opposite of salutations — when used in a letter (or email) form. Here in the UK, we’ve found that pretty much everyone uses either “Best Wishes”, or a simple and condensed, “Best” at the bottom of letters.  However, once in a while we get a nice and hearty “Regards”.  I always like a regards, because it doesn’t imply that the writer knows what my wishes are!  How can you send me best wishes if you’re a complete stranger?  Regards is the perfect tone for someone you don’t know very well, but still want to be polite to.

UNLESS…. however… the person typing “Regards” accidently hits the T instead of the G, which recently happened to us.  I don’t like being called “Retards”, especially by my landlord!  We’re both hoping it was a simple typo.

While I’m on the subject, however, I’m going to take a moment and discuss the salutation/valediction state of modern communications. I absolutely HATE getting email from people – especially professionally – where there is no salutation.  Don’t just send me a note, please begin by stating my name, followed by a comma, and then your comments.  It’s so much more civilized.  Then when you’re done, a simple “Thanks” followed by your name will go a long way to ensuring that I actually read and respect your message.

I ask the same thing when you come over to my desk!  Don’t just bark something out at me, stop and say my name, then wait for my acknowledgment, and then continue. Especially since I’m hard of hearing, I often don’t hear people who sneak up behind me. And if I’m concentrating really hard, I might miss the first sentence or two until I can switch gears and pay attention to you.  Is this so hard to ask?  I think it’s one of my pet peeves!

Although my really big pet peeve is misspelling my name. Don’t even THINK Of doing that!

Okay.  I’m done now.  Go back to your regularly scheduled Tuesday morning.

Ta ta!
Astrid

 

Posted on 11/01/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. In my work, with a wide variety of people from all over the world, a virtually formal structure has been established. Pretty much everyone has been “trained” to say “Best Regards” in all communications. I like to change it up a little, so I will vary from “Many Thanks and Best Regards” to “Kind Regards” to a simple “Regards”. In my experience “Regards” appears to be the most common e-mail closing – and “Cheers” is the most common among Americans trying to pretend to be British 🙂

  2. Haha. Retards, that’s horrible!! I laughed out loud when I read that.
    On a side note about you name, did you ever see that episode of The Office when Michael is having a baby shower for Jan in the office and he orders custom M&Ms with the baby’s name, which is Astrid, but he misspells it as “Astird”, and pronounces it as Ass Turd? I think of you everytime I see it 🙂 I’m sorry, I just had to tell you that. Don’t hate me!

    • Ha ha! I’ve never seen the episode, but I might have to watch it now! Thanks for thinking of me, I guess. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Valediction Conundrum | switchtheflip

Leave a Reply

