Christmas in the Office


A Danish Christmas tree illuminated with burni...

Image via Wikipedia

Christmas is one of those tough holidays. Some people celebrate, some people don’t, some people think it’s super-religiousy, others just like the commercial aspects.  Finding the golden mean can be tricky, and I’ve struggled over the years with various office situations and how the professional environment acts and reacts to what is essentially the most unprofessional event of the year.

First of all, I don’t think we should have Christmas off work. It’s not fair to those people who don’t celebrate. While working in New York, there were a lot of Jewish people in my office and in my community. They didn’t want to take what was, to them, some random weekday off. They’d much rather have taken off Hannukah, or Rosh Hoshanah, or any number of other Jewish holidays.  I think it would be nice if the government said “You can have 3 or 4 or however many days off each year for whatever religious – or non-religious – belief system you personally hold, and you can take them whenever you want.”  That way the Pagans could be off for the Solstice, the Muslims could be off for Eid, and I wouldn’t have to go to work on Darwin Day!

Unfortunately that is not going to happen. Instead, we’re stuck with that awkward week where most people are gone (especially those with little kids), everyone is stressed about spending time with the family, and there aren’t enough hours in the day to go last minute shopping.

I think I went off on a bit of a tangent there. This was supposed to be about Christmas in the office.  One place where I worked was a very small company, maybe 18 people in total. It was a huge surprise to me when, a week before Christmas, I showed up to work to find lots of little bags of candy and a coffee mug and some candy canes on my desk. Apparently, every one put together little packages for all the other coworkers, and that was the day we were supposed to exchange. Except no one told me. It was really awkward, because everyone gave me something, but I had nothing to give. I never really recovered from that faux pas, socially at least.

The next office I worked at was a pretty big corporate place, with lots of rules and regulations. Now, I was never able to actually find this in the employee handbook, but one of my coworkers swore that it was official company policy that you could only gift down the ladder of hierarchy.  So the president gives something to the vice president, who gives something to the middle management, who gives something to the regular worker, who gives something to the receptionist, etc etc etc.  This made sense to me. Otherwise the one person at the top (who, let’s face it, has the best office and salary anyway) gets all the good gifts. It can even become a competition to see who can suck up the most with the best gift, and I’m sure when promotions were announced in January there would be a few sideways glances.  I also liked giving a gift to someone below me, because it emphasized for me that I was no longer at the bottom of the ladder! It’s nice having someone look up to you.

My current job here in London is a mid-size place, but it’s fairly casual and informal. We’re doing a Secret Santa, but it’s a little different that Secret Santa I know from the States.  Here, it’s just one day – one gift – worth no more than £5. But the kicker is that you never have to reveal yourself!  It’s completely anonymous, 100%, even after the event is over.  I kind of like that.  In the US, at least how I always knew it, you had to give 5 days of gifts, and on the 5th day you revealed your identity.  My only problem with the plan as it’s done in my current job is that £5 doesn’t get much!  And my person is my boss!  So I broke the rules and splurged … I spent £12. But don’t tell anyone!

 

 

 

Posted on 15/12/2010, in Speaker's Corner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The US version of Secret Santa doesn’t sound terribly secret (and far too expensive!). For most of us, it’s an occasion for a little joke or two – though the secrecy does allow opportunities for malice too, of course – does a gift of toiletries indicate a desperate lack of imagination or is Someone Trying to Tell You Something?

    • How funny that you should say that! Because someone in the office did get some Lynx bodyspray, and he’s not very happy about it! I got my secret person some lovely scented soaps, but with no underlying message other than I didn’t know what to do! So hopefully she wasn’t offended.

Leave a Reply

