A giant bag of tea


Tea. It’s the quintessential element of working in a British office. Luckily for me, I like tea. I think it’s a decent beverage. But I’m nowhere near the fan of tea that my co-workers are. I think they drink more tea than Americans drink coffee, which is a lot! There are about 40 people in my building, and they each have at least 3 cups per day, which is 120 cups every day. And since there are about 250 working days in the year, that’s 30,000 cups of tea in a year (and that’s a conservative estimate).

Now, I know that my little old box of Lipton tea contains 100 tea bags. Clearly that would only get the office through to about 3 pm, and then there would be riots. So the office manager purchases tea by the bag … a VERY big bag.  It kind of reminds me of those dog-food bags we used to buy when I was a kid. I think they were 25lbs, but they were huge!  I don’t know how much tea is in this bag (25 kg), because the weight is in metric and I still don’t understand that, but I put a bottle of wine next to the bag to get a sense of scale. That’s a lot of tea.

Posted on 31/10/2010, in Foodie adventures, Silly British Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. But the biggest question of all is have you entered to win the 500,000 pounds?

Leave a Reply

