Meet Wanda, my Wicycle


This is Wanda. She’s my new bicycle (but you have to pronounce it wicycle, with an eastern european accent).  I was lucky enough to buy her from a colleague for a couple of quid, and now I’m riding my bike part of the way home after work. Luckily I work right next to the River Stort, which is a canal with a lovely little canal tow-path. It’s the perfect place to ride because I don’t have to worry about traffic, yet it’s pretty well maintained.

Basically the river, the towpath, and the train all run parallel to one another for about 20 miles. So I’ve been riding 3 or 4 miles, and then parking my bike at a train station, and then continuing onwards the next day, eventually going the whole distance. Then at the end of the week I haul my bike onboard the train and take it back up to work. It’s pretty flat the whole way, which is nice.

I’m not a very good bicyclist, and I think I look drunk the way I swerve back and forth a lot. But I haven’t fallen into the canal yet, so I think that’s pretty good.

Posted on 11/08/2010, in Transit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Woo hoo!!! That sounds totally idyllic. Biking is lovely! Alex totally needs to get a bike too so you can go on bike rides together and pack a picnic in your adorable basket.

  2. That’s awesome! It’s especially great that you have such a perfect bike route to take. I’d love to bike to work, but am pretty sure I’d get flattened by a bus 😦

  3. Go girl! That is awesome! Love the basket –can totally see you with a book and a snack. Healthy living–enjoy!

Leave a Reply

