We don’t count!


I was reading a little bit about the US Census the other day, and I realized that we don’t count! The census only counts people currently living in the United States, and as ex-pats we’re clearly somewhere else.

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about that. Just because I’m living in a different country doesn’t mean I’m any less a US citizen — I feel like I should still be counted, and in some ways it might be easier to count ex-pats (because most of use are registered with our local embassies) than regular people.

But I suppose we just have to live with it. Along with voting restrictions (we can only vote in Federal elections), it’s one of the few downsides of living abroad. We still have to explore the tax information though! Hopefully that will be good news!

Posted on 02/04/2010, in Just a funny, Logistics. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I will forward your concerns immediately to the local director of the US Census. Valerie

Leave a Reply

