Watership Down


Alex graciously allowed me to bring one or two of my all-time favorite books, one of which is Watership Down, by Richard Adams.  Wait a second, you’re saying, isn’t that the kid’s book about the talking rabbits? Yes, yes it is. But it’s also an incredibly well-written story. I could also say that it’s a socio-economic allegory of the Cold War, but that might be reading too much into it.

Last week I sat down and re-read (for the umpteenth time) Watership Down, and I realized that we can actually go see the real downs. They lie south of London, but not too far for a Saturday jaunt.

This is a map of the area (in real life).

I think I’ll have to put this on our to-do list (which is growing longer by the minute!).  I’m looking forward to seeing some nice scenery, but probably not any rabbits. Wikipedia says that there aren’t any burrows on the Downs. 😦

The real-life Watership Down.

Even if we don’t get out to this area until the summer, I still think it will be worth it. In the mean time, you should go pick up a copy of the book! Seriously!

Posted on 24/03/2010, in Book Review, Exploring the UK and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Adventures and discoveries abound! What fun! VAB

  2. I just finished reading the book. As I started reading it I was wondering how it was possible to write over 400 pages about some rabbits story… Now that I have been through I wish there were 400 more, or that I had taken my time reading it more slowly. I don’t remember when was the last time I read anything as entertaining and imaginative as this book. I wish I could visit the area round Watership Down and the scenery the books pictures.

  3. One of my favorite all-time books and may be the only book I’ve ever read more than once – 3 times at least. Wonderful book! The Thunder builds and Thunder breaks chapters are incredible and intense!

Leave a Reply

