E-books


Since I work in publishing, many people have asked me what I think of e-books, e-readers, and digital formats in general. My standard response is “I think they’re great, but they’re not quite done evolving yet.” Luckily for me it seems like some other people agree with me.

So if you’re thinking about investing in that Kindle, Sony, or new i-Pad, here’s an article that might straighten a few things out for you.

Cheers!
Astrid

PS –(I’m pretty sure only the moms are reading this blog, but I hope you enjoy!)

Posted on 11/03/2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Suzanne M-G

    Those ebook thingies give me the creeps. I’ll stick with the real thing, at least for now.

  2. Not just moms here!

    I got a Kindle for Christmas. I probably wouldn’t have bought one on my own, because I think it’s hard to justify $259 just for the hardware, in addition to the cost of the books. However, now that I have it, I love it. It’s great to be able to bring one book-sized item with me and have a whole library of stuff to read. Also, with free mobile wireless and access to Wikipedia, it truly is the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. 🙂

    The only issue I have with the Kindle is that it doesn’t support the ePub format. A lot of libraries are starting to loan ebooks in ePub, and I’d love to be able to take advantage of that.

    • I actually think the Kindle is way better for reading fiction than non-fiction, depending on how broad your definition of “non-fiction” is. Right now the Kindle and other e-readers are great for any non-complex reading (e.g. the novel you’re reading just for fun, the latest news, that trashy celebrity bio you just couldn’t resist), but as e-readers stand now they’re abysmal delivery systems for reference texts, textbooks, and guidebooks. Way more functionality is needed to make it easy to flip around, bookmark, underline, and take notes before these things are ready to emulate what printed books do. That said, my Kindle is coming with me on my trip to Europe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

