Calling all Cooks


Our temporary flat is quite lovely, and I have no complaints. Well, almost none. The only thing I haven’t figured out yet is the oven!  It’s got 4 burners on the stove, and the oven. But there are 7 knobs!  I’ve figured out through trial and error which 4 light the stovetops, but I can’t figure out which one operate the oven, and how!  As you can see from the picture, there are no notches or markings on the knobs. The black marks that are there seem to be dirt.  Any ideas??

—Astrid

Posted on 24/01/2010, in Foodie adventures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Is there a warming drawer? Or is one for the oven and another for the broiler?

    • Yes, there is a drawer at the bottom….. I’ll check that out! Thanks!

      • I double-checked with my boss, who went to school in London, and she says one is for the broiler 🙂

  2. Suzanne M-G

    It’s time to make friends with a neighbor in the building. Surely one of them knows.

    • Yeah, but that would be all logical and stuff. Takes all the fun out of it!

      Are you getting these replies?? Astrid

  3. Suzanne M-G

    Yes, I am with this one as the first. I finally figured it out. It goes to show that old dogs can figure it out, after all!

    Yes, 4 burners, off-On for the over, oven temp., and perhaps the broiler, as Sarah suggested.
    I’m SO thrilled that I can see the replies and your further comments now. I may need Depends, I’m so excited! Sorry about missing all the rest!

Leave a Reply

