I’m here! I’m here!


Yes, I made it safe and sound!  This is the first internet access I’ve had in more than 48 hours, and I think I was started to go through withdrawal!  Luckily for me (and you, I suppose), I found a handy little internet cafe on Fulham Road where they only charge £1 for an hour of interwebs.

I suppose I should start at the beginning for my little recap. The flight over here was very nice. IcelandAir is a lovely airline, and it’s very obvious that they totally love Iceland!  Heck, by the end of the flight, we were all speaking Icelandic!  (Takk!)  The Keflavix Airport is one of the nicest I’ve seen. It’s very small of course, but the design is really nice. And the staff get around by using scooters, those things that the kids these days (Ha! I’m old) stand on and kick off with one leg?  Well, the KEF staff have adult sized ones. It’s super cute. 

I took a taxi (sorry Alex!) from the airport to the flat where we’re staying. With 3 hugely heavy bags, and not having slept on the plane, I didn’t want to deal with the tube. That all went fine. The flat is really nice! Small, but very up to date. It would be totally perfect if we could find something similar next week when we’re on the hunt!

Yesterday I slept late, and then went to my interview. I think it went well, and I’m eager to see how it turns out.

Today Alex has given me a long list of directions and bus lines that I’m supposed to ride so I can evaluate various neighborhoods. I’m looking forward to it!  I don’t think I can get too terribly lost!  After all, it is an island nation!

Ok. That’s all for now, folks. I miss you all, and hope everyone is doing well. I’ll try to write again this evening, but it might be tomorrow.

Posted on 20/01/2010, in Logistics, Preparations. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yeah!!! So glad to hear that all is well. Very exciting times! Good luck with job & housing searches. Love, Valerie

Leave a Reply

